Grandview Heights Schools

Skip to main content
Health Services » Social, Emotional, and Mental Health Support

Social, Emotional, and Mental Health Support

Serving Students and Families with Social, Emotional, and Mental Health Support

Our students are presently experiencing a learning environment that looks and feels very different than anything they have experienced in previous years, whether they are attending classes in a hybrid environment or attending classes virtually through our FLVS Learning Program.

The Grandview Heights Schools Department of Student Services is committed to supporting students and families during these challenging times. We also recognize and value the importance of social, emotional, and mental support.  We strive to go beyond academics to help meet the social, emotional, and mental needs of our students, which may be the most challenging and important aspect to address.

We appreciate your continued support as we work together to support every child's learning during these unprecedented times. We also recognize that every child’s social and emotional needs are also vitally important to help them grow into healthy, happy citizens who look forward to the future. Providing access to these supports is a critical district priority.

Below please find resources that might be helpful: 

Helping Children Cope with Changes Resulting from COVID-19 

Supporting Children's Mental Health:Tips for Parents and Educators 

ON OUR SLEEVES The Movement for Children's Mental Health at Nationwide Children's Hospital how-to guide provides tips on helping kids manage anxiety, understanding what’s normal and the warning signs. and anxiety management activities at https://www.onoursleeves.org/mental-wellness-tools-guides/help-kids-manage-anxiety/anxiety-activities-to-help-kids

Syntero Can Help!  Click on the links below for individual referrals and parent workshops.  The links include upcoming parent workshops, podcasts, and other resources. Syntero clinicians will continue to collaborate with School Counselors and School Social Workers regarding any new referrals that come through this form, unless parents/guardians specifically request that Syntero not communicate with school district staff. 

https://docs.google.com/document/d/11nRwqnK5n3GvKX0CLrv4jHmR8G3E167BU5-MwK70JSo/edit

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSckTxjjXSCgr0qBZMblkw0v_2OL0GrzAno3KFct0JMtrBgElw/closedform

Our Student Services staff is available to help meet the needs of our students and families K-12. Please feel free to reach out to the staff members listed below for help or with any questions or concerns.

Dr. Madeline Partlow - Director of Student Services  madeline.partlow@ghschools.org

Amber Nickels - District Mental Health Specialist  amber.nickels@ghschools.org 

Liz Wagner - Syntero School Based Clinician  elizabeth.wagner@ghschools.org

Bryan Stork - High School Counselor  bryan.stork@ghschools.org 

Jane O'Shaughnessy - College/Career Counselor   jane.oshaughnessy@ghschools.org 

Abby Mally - Middle School Counselor  abby.mally@ghschools.org 

Dr. Eric Pickering - School Psychologist, Grades 4-12   eric.pickering@ghschools.org 

Stephanie Doran - Elementary Counselor   stephanie.doran@ghschools.org 

Abby Keller - School Psychologist, Grades K-3 & Pre-School   abby.keller@ghschools.org